Weekend Adventures

This weekend marked my first time back to rock climbing outside for a very long time. I haven’t been climbing as much as I used to over the past few years, partly due to a pesky knee issue and partly due to IVF. Climbing is not one of those activities that goes particularly well with huge swollen ovaries and the avoidance of strenuous activities post-transfer. I was somewhat nervous when we first started the climb considering it had been so long since my last multi-pitch (tall wall) climbing experience. But the route my husband and our friends had chosen was stunning beautiful and perfect for my rusty muscles and nerves. There were several moments when my nerves started to take over and anxiety kicked in, but looking down at the sea we were climbing many meters above was somehow calming. Looking down while climbing usually has the opposite effect for me. Interestingly enough, one of the first thoughts that popped into my mind while looking down at the sea was how I really need to find my IVF sea equivalent. Something that can help me stay calm and wash away anxiety so I can keep climbing on until we reach the summit, but also enjoy the route along the way.

Calanques 

6 thoughts on “Weekend Adventures

Leave a Reply

